Tune In. Let's Go.


Tuesday, July 27

9:00 AM - Call to Order 

Rick Levy: President Texas, AFL-CIO

9:25 AM - Speaker: Richard Trumka

President, AFL-CIO

9:55 AM - Panel: Unseen Impact of Covid on Women

Moderator: Judy Lugo
Alejandra Lopez- Educator, Texas AFT
a Marsh - TWU

Marilyn Davis - IATSE Local 126

10:40 AM - Kick Ass Awards

The biggest, baddest, best of the best in 2020-21

10:45 AM - Panel: Labor Leading on Climate Change

Moderator: Leonard Aguilar, Texas AFL-CIO

Bo Delp - Texas Climate Job Project Director
Wayne Lord - UA Local 68
Lara Skinner - Cornell University 
Elsa Caballero - SEIU Texas 

11:30 AM - Lunch

Take your union made lunch break, but come back and join us for a prize drawing. 

1:00 PM - Panel: The Assault on Democracy in Texas 

Moderator: Jeff Rotkoff - Campaigns Director, Texas AFL-CIO

Rep. Jessica González - District 104
Chris Hollins - Former County Clerk, Harris Co. 
Mimi Marziani - Texas Civil Rights Project

1:45 PM - Committee Report

Constitution and By-Laws 

2:15 PM - Workshops 

1. Federal Labor Unions - Jeff Darby, AFGE
2. Wage and Hour Laws - Imelda Avila-Thomas, AFGE 2139

3. Citizenship Clinics 101 - Jesus Perales, Texas AFL-CIO

4. The Role of Stewards in the Struggle for Our Future - Rose Levy, CWA

5. Union Flyers - Tips and Tricks - Savannah Fortune

3:00 PM - Adjourn 

Thanks for a great first day. See y'all tomorrow. 

Wednesday, July 28 

9:00 AM - Call to Order

Rick Levy:  President, Texas AFL-CIO

9:05 - Speaker: Ray Curry

President, United Autoworkers

9:20 AM - Panel: Racial Justice is a Union Issue

Moderator: LaTonia Benoit, Education and Human Rights Director, Texas AFL-CIO

Pauline Mims - UAW
Lacy Wolf - Insulators 

Juana Ramirez - Workers United, SEIU

10:05 AM - Speaker: Kim Kelly

Labor writer and activist

10:20 AM - Fighting for Our Fair Shot Agenda

87th Texas Legislature Overview and Update on Special Session

Rene Lara - Legislative Director, Texas AFL-CIO

Jeff Rotkoff - Campaigns Director, Texas AFL-CIO

10:40 AM - COPE 

Join COPE through our interactive fundraiser. 

10:45 AM - Break 

Take a union made restroom break/water break

11:00 AM - Awards/Announcements/Recognitions

Resolutions Report

Community Service Awards
Publication Awards

Hall of Fame Announcement 
Scholarship Report
Ruth Ellinger

Kick Ass Awards

11:15 AM - Panel: Organizing for a Better Future

Moderator: Artie Blanco, AFL-CIO

Leah Waters - Newspaper Guild
Derrick Osobase - CWA
Gonzalo Reyes - UFCW 540

12:00 PM - The Finish Line

COPE Prize Drawings

Swearing In Of Officers
Discharge of Committees

Singing of Solidarity Forever

12:15 PM - Adjournment

Thank you to all for an amazing convention. Let's keep fighting for a better Texas. 

12:35 PM - New Executive Board Meeting

Current and New Executive Officer Board Meeting